Never-Trumpers prevail: Jordan ousted as speaker nominee

by WorldTribune Staff / 247 Real News October 20, 2023

Following a third failed vote to get Rep. Jim Jordan elected House speaker, Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz said Jordan’s supporters were willing to accept censure or other actions against them to get Jordan the gavel. However, the GOP rejected his offer and Jordan’s nomination which had been endorsed by Former President Donald Trump.

House Republicans voted by secret ballot and behind closed doors to end Rep. Jim Jordan’s quest for speaker and will instead hold a forum for new candidates on Oct. 23.

“We are willing to accept censure, sanction, suspension, removal from the Republican conference, we of course will remain Republicans, we will continue to vote with Republicans on Republican principals but if what these holdouts need are a pound of our flesh, we’re willing to give it to them to see Jordan as Speaker,” Gaetz told media outside the U.S. Capitol on Friday.

Related: ‘It’s all about Donald Trump’: Jordan defers to acting speaker McHenry, then changes his mind, October 19, 2023

Twenty GOP members voted against Jordan for other candidates in the first round of voting, 22 in the second, and 25 in the third round that took place on Friday afternoon.

Political Scientist Dr. Carol Swain posted on LinkedIn: “Those Republican holdouts are people who are anti-Trump. … It’s not about Jim Jordan, it’s about them.”

The 25 Republicans who declined to vote for Jordan on Friday:

Rep. Don Bacon of Nebraska
Rep. Vern Buchanan of Florida
Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer of Oregon
Rep. Anthony D’Esposito of New York
Rep. Mario Díaz-Balart Florida
Rep. Jake Ellzey of Texas
Rep. Drew Ferguson of Georgia
Rep. Andrew Garbarino of New York
Rep. Carlos Giminez of Florida
Rep. Tony Gonzales of Texas
Rep. John James of Michigan
Rep. Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania
Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa
Rep. Kay Granger of Texas
Rep. John Rutherford of Florida
Rep. Mike Simpson of Idaho
Rep. Pete Stauber of Minnesota
Rep. Ken Buck Colorado
Rep. Jen Kiggans Virginia
Rep. Nick LaLota New York
Rep. Steve Womack Arizona
Rep. Mike Lawler New York
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick Pennsylvania
Rep. Thomas Kean Jr. New Jersey
Rep. Marc Molinaro New York

Rep. Jim Banks of Indiana, the former House Republican Study Committee (RSC) chair, said that Granger should lose her gavel as chair of the Appropriations Committee for opposing Jordan’s bid for speaker.

“Kay Granger doesn’t deserve to be chairwoman of the Appropriations Committee,” Banks told Breitbart News. “She’s blocking the most fiscally conservative choice we’ve ever had to be the Speaker of the House. And she should lose her gavel for that.”

A letter signed by the eight Republicans who voted to oust Speaker Kevin McCarthy states:

“The recent passage of the Motion to Vacate the Speaker has caused rancor, hurt feelings, and acrimony in the House Republican Conference. While we stand by our actions, it is our goal to proceed forward with our colleagues, our teammates, our fellow Republicans in a manner that embraces reconciliation.”

“It has been suggested the Conference cannot move forward until there are consequences for each of us. While we violated no rule of either the House or Republican Conference, we understand some in the Conference wish to punish us.”

The letter states that the actions “were never about us,” but rather to “change Washington for the better.”

Your Choice

Please Support Real Journalism